The Path, Taken

Last year today (Minus a couple months) I was contemplating on what I should do with my life. I have been wanting to get into Data Analysis and Product Development since the beginning of 2014, however one of my worst flaw is queuing thing when new idea comes. From my earlier posts about the Engineering job, I failed but I didn’t feel too bad about it as I don’t think I would want to be an Engineer professionally and I don’t think I want to stay in one project constantly for an extended period of time, i.e. a year or so. As I look through the job listing in both Boston and, recently, New York… I can’t help but think about what-if… What if I had applied jobs in New York or Philadelphia in 2015 instead of Boston… Of course, if I start asking what-if, we can always trace back to every decision made in the past. On another hand, I don’t know how likely would I be able to get an entry developer/analyst job in NYC with virtually zero programming skill. In the end, my goal is the same as I have stated before, Tech for $$ and Film for life. This is my Plan A and Plan B. I just don’t know if I can go all into on film without any backup plans…

Buffett suggested people to make a list prioritizing what I want to do. (Below is my concluding list with breakdown.)

  1. Get a reel
  2. Building a webapp for analyzing census (and other) data
    1. Access with Census API
    2. Log the data with Python and Google Sheet (With MySQL or Postgres in the future)
    3. Use Google Visualization Tool to build plotting GUI/Dashboard
  3. Build a general purpose webscraper
    1. Use Scrapy to scrap with custom config (Done)
    2. Set up rate control to prevent blacklisting
    3. Humanize it
  4. Get the writing certificate from Emerson
  5. Develop an Engineering Modeling Series on YouTube
    1. Review Analog IC Basic
    2. Write out basic modeling flow
Leave a Reply

